Keeping The Darkness at Bay

“I’m a musician. I write songs. I just hope when the day is done I’ve been able to tear a little corner off of the darkness.”  – Bono

I find much encouragement in this quote during 12 hour drives in the bus or on days when an engine failure puts us on the side of the road in Montana or Iowa.  Sometimes I ask myself what am I really accomplishing?  Can a song really change the world?  Or a contribution to a non-profit or a couple hours downtown giving food to homeless families?  It’s just a drop in the ocean.   

“My life amounts to no more than one drop in a limitless ocean. Yet what is any ocean, but a multitude of drops?” – David Mitchell, Cloud Atlas

So it’s more than just a song or a display of love – it’s a beam of light that pierces it’s way through the night sky like a laser and puts a dent in the universe in which we reside.  We’re part of something significant wether we know it or not and yet I still have the tendency to feel like nothing more than a blip on the radar.  I loved Gandalf’s response when asked by Lady Galadriel as to why he chose a hobbit, a small creature, for such an epic quest.  

“I found it is the small everyday deeds of ordinary folk that keep the darkness at bay.  Small acts of kindness and love.”  Gandalf the Grey 

We are a force to be reckoned with.  Song writers, abolitionists, students, philanthropists, doctors, carpenters, accountants and domestic engineers – we will rise up in our small spheres of influence and will raise torches in the darkness.  We will shoot holes in the night sky until the light breaks through.  It’s the Daystar that has risen in our hearts that reminds us that the dawn is not so far off.  

 

So we will hasten the day, 

we will restore the ancient ruins, 

we will reshape rooms, 

we will rebuild from the rubble, 

we will rescue and rehabilitate child soldiers, 

we will breathe life into empty spaces, 

we will tear a corner off the darkness,

we will keep the darkness at bay,

we will make a dent in the universe

and we will look to the east until daylight breaks.  

 

 

3 thoughts on “Keeping The Darkness at Bay

  1. I’ve been following you guys since the first album, and I’m so glad to know that you still have the same mindset. Keep it up, David.

  2. You’ve really inspired me. Today is going to be a good day and I will spread light everywhere I go! Thank you, keep doing what you’re doing! You really are making a difference!!

Leave a Reply

